New Resources for Specialists

Navigating MIPS reporting can be a challenge for specialists struggling to find MIPS measures that are applicable to their practice. To succeed in MIPS in 2020, consider utilizing one or more of the following resources.

CMS Specialty Measure Sets

Many quality measures may not apply directly to a given specialty. In recognition of this fact, CMS defines a number of specialty and sub-specialty measure sets including seven that are new in 2020: Audiology, Clinical Social Work, Chiropractic Medicine, Endocrinology, Nutrition/Dietician, Pulmonology, and Speech Language Pathology.

The purpose of these measure sets is to simplify the process of selecting measures for specialists. Keep in mind that use of these sets is optional. Those who choose to report specialty measure sets must submit data on at least six measures within the chosen set. If the set contains fewer than six measures, the clinician or practice should submit each measure in the set, but does not need to submit additional quality measures. To learn more about the new specialty measure sets, see Table Group B in Appendix A of the 2020 Quality Payment Program Final Rule. To review the other 39 sets, filter by Specialty Measure Set in the Explore Measures Tool on the QPP website.

More Resources

About Author

Healthcentric Advisors
As the New England Quality Payment Program Support Center, Healthcentric Advisors assists New England-based physician and other eligible clinical practices to prepare for and participate in the new Quality Payment Program (QPP), established by the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 (MACRA).