Recently, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), announced the name change of the MIPS Advancing Care Information performance category to the Promoting Interoperability performance category. 

Here are a few things you need to know about this name change: 

  1. Promoting Interoperability is not a new performance category; it’s just the new name for the Advancing Care Information performance category. This new name better reflects the increased focus on interoperability and improving patient access to health information. 
  2. The 2018 requirements for the Promoting Interoperability performance category are exactly the same as what was finalized for the Advancing Care Information performance category. For an overview of the 2018 Promoting Interoperability performance category and participation requirements, review this fact sheet. Please note, CMS is in the process of updating the 2018 measure specifications to reflect the Promoting Interoperability name change. However, the specifications are still the same.
  3. In addition to renaming the Advancing Care Information performance category, CMS also changed the name of the EHR Incentive Programs to the Promoting Interoperability Programs. To learn more about the Promoting Interoperability Programs, visit this webpage.

Learn More

Promoting Interoperability Webinar

CMS will be hosting a webinar to discuss the Promoting Interoperability performance category requirements in 2018. Register today!

  • Title: Promoting Interoperability Performance Category Webinar
  • Date: Tuesday, June 12
  • Time: 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. ET


About Author

Healthcentric Advisors
As the New England Quality Payment Program Support Center, Healthcentric Advisors assists New England-based physician and other eligible clinical practices to prepare for and participate in the new Quality Payment Program (QPP), established by the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 (MACRA).